SubEthaEdit herunterladen
SubEthaEdit 3.5.4 herunterladen
Benötigt Mac OS X 10.4

Sie können SubEthaEdit für 30 Tage testen bevor Sie die Software registrieren. Klicken Sie bitte hier für Details. Alle Preise zzgl. MwSt.

Quick Links
SubEthaEdits Auszeichnungen

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Allgemeines

Warum der Name "SubEthaEdit"?

Der Name wurde gewählt um einen der größten Visonäre des gemeinsamen Texten mit Computern zu ehren: Douglas Adams, der Autor von "Per Anhalter durch die Galaxis", einem der unterhaltsamsten Bücher auf dem blauen Planet. In seinen Büchern gibt es einen Reiseführer für Außerirdische, der von mehreren Autoren über das sogenannte "SubEthaNet" gemeinsam editiert wird. Hier ein Zitat:

The Guide was compiled by researchers roaming round the galaxy, beaming their copy in, which was then instantly available to anybody to read. Over, believe it or not, something called the SubEthaNet. [...] I really didn't foresee the Internet. But then, neither did the computer industry. Not that that tells us very much of course - the computer industry didn't even foresee that the century was going to end. But I did have the inkling of an idea that a collaborative guide, one that was written and kept up to date by the people who used it, in real time, might be a neat idea.

Gibt es eine *nix oder Windows Version?

Wir entwickeln sehr gerne für den Macintosh und mit Cocoa und wollen weiterhin SubEthaEdit verbessern. Wir haben zur Zeit weder Erfahrung noch Ressourcen um unser Produkt auf andere Platformen zu portieren.

Ich hätte gerne einen "Created with SubEthaEdit" Knopf für meine Webseite

Bitteschön:
Created with SubEthaEdit

Wie funktioniert SubEthaEdit?

SubEthaEdit benutzt Bonjour um Dienste in einem Netzwerk anzukündigen. Bonjour hat allerdings, entgegen der landläufigen Meinung, nichts mit den kollaborativen Funktionen von SubEthaEdit zu tun. Diese werden von einem Framework zur Verfügung gestellt das intern "Million Monkeys Framework" heißt und es ermöglicht Text ohne Latenz oder Locking gemeinsam zu editieren. SubEthaEdits Netzwerk-Protokoll basiert auf offenen Standards, namentlich dem "Blocks Extensible Exchange Protocol" (BEEP).

Wo bekomme ich alte Versionen von SubEthaEdit?

Hier.

Netzwerk

Ich habe nur einen Macintosh. Wie kann ich kollaboratives Editieren testen?

Einfach zu unserem offiziellen Test Server verbinden.

Ist SubEthaEdit 2.x kompatibel mit 1.x?

Nein. Weil im Rahmen der Entwicklung von 2.0 das Netzwerk-Protokoll massiv verändert und verbessert wurde, kann SubEthaEdit 2.x nicht mit 1.x sprechen. Das neue Protokoll ist jedoch auf- und abwärts-kompatibel und bildet die Basis aller zukünftigen SubEthaEdit Protokolle.

Hat sich die Portnummer verändert?

Ja. Version 1.x hat Port 30729 benutzt. Version 2.0 benutzt ein veränderten Protokoll über Port 6942, einfach zu merken mit Hilfe fortgescherittener Hypermathematik:: "Sechs mal neun ist zweiundvierzig". Der Portbereich 6942-6951 wird benutzt um "Schneller Benuzterwechsel" und Port-Konflikte zu unterstützen.

Ich sehe keine Dokumente im Netzwerk. Was läuft schief?

Bitte überprüfen sie ob sie eine Firewall benutzen. Falls ja, bitte erlauben sie SubEthaEdit die Ports 6942 bis 6951 zu benutzen. Falls sie die eingebaute Firewall von Mac OS X benutzen, klicken sie auf den 'Neu' Knopf rechts von der Portliste, wählen sie "Andere" und tragen sie "6942-6951" als Portnummmer und "SubEthaEdit" als Beschreibung ein. Für eine genaue Schritt-für-Schritt Anleitung, besuchen Sie bitte unsere "Netzwerk Hilfe" Seite.

Ich befinde mich hinter einem Router. Wie kann ich mit anderen die ebenfalls hinter einem Router sitzen über das Internet zusammenarbeiten?

Seit Version 3.1 kann SubEthaEdit automatisch Ports weiterleiten. Hierzu muss ggf. die UPNP bzw. NAT-PMP Funktion ihres Routers einmalig aktiviert werden. Bitte konsultieren Sie hierzu das Handbuch ihres Router oder aktivieren sie NAT-PMP an ihrer Airport Basisstation wie hier beschrieben. Im Falle von manueller Portweiterleitung müssen Port 6942 bis 6951 auf die Adresse des Macintosh weitergeleitet werden. Danach kann der Benutzer seine IP dem Partner mitteilen, der diese in sein Internet-Fenster eintragen kann. Sobald eine Verbindung hergestellt ist können bei Teilnehmer Dokumente freigeben. Falls sie ihre IP herausfinden möchten, surfen sie zu http://www.myip.dk/. Für eine genaue Schritt-für-Schritt Anleitung, besuchen Sie bitte unsere "Netzwerk Hilfe" Seite.

Was ist friendcasting?

Friendcasting zeigt alle Verbindungen (respektive Freunde) eines Users an mit dem man verbunden ist. So können sich z.B. Arbeitsgruppen besser finden. Friendcasting kann man über den Knopf im Verbindungen Fenster anschalten. Alle neuen Freund-eines-Freundes Verbindungen bekommen zur Klarheit ein besonderes Verbindungssymbol. Bei Bedenken in Sachen Privatssphäre kann Friendcasting in den erweiterten Einstellungen abgeschalten werden.

Wird mein Dokument sicher übertragen?

SubEthaEdit verwendet standardmäßig SSL für alle Verbindungen, ihr Dokument ist also vor fremden Augen sicher. Sollte die Verschlüsslung fehlschlagen stellt SubEthaEdit dies im Verbindungsfenster dar und versieht das Dokument nicht mit dem SSL Schlösschen recht oben.

Funktionen

Ich brauche Hilfe bei regulären Ausdrücken.

"Hilfe → Reguläre Ausdrücke" bietet einen Überblick über SubEthaEdits Vokabular. Ein englisches Tutorial zu regulären Ausdrücken findet sich unter http://www.regular-expressions.info.

Der Syntax Highlighter macht Text nicht fett oder kursiv. Was läuft schief?

Um die sogenannte "Fontification" zu benutzen benötigt man idealerweise einen Font der sowohl mit fetten wie kursiven Schnitten vorliegt. Leider liefert Apple derzeit keinen Font mit der sowohl "monospaced" ist, und sich damit zum Programmieren geeignet, und diese Varianten enthält. Wir empfehlen den kostenlosen "Vera Bitstream Mono" Font als Ersatz. Falls sie trotzdem Monaco oder einen anderen Font ohne Varianten benutzen möchten, kann SubEthaEdit diese Varianten synthetisieren. Schalten sie dazu die beiden Funktionen "Füge den Schriften generierten Fett- und Kursiv-Schnitt hinzu" und "Bildschirmschriften deaktivieren" in den erweiterten Einstellungen an.

Wie funktioniert Autocomplete?

Autocomplete wird aktiviert durch drücken von ⌥⎋ (Option-Escape) oder durch F5. Diese Tastenkombinationen funktionieren übrigens in fast allen Cocoa Anwendungen und können über das die Datei DefaultKeyBinding.dict in ~/Library/KeyBindings/ angepasst werden. Autocomplete funktioniert derzeit nicht zusammen mit TextExtras.

Wie geht "Blockedit"?

Sie können mehrere Zeilen gleichzeitig editieren indem sie ⌥ (Option) gedrückt halten und Zeilen selektieren. Jetzt in die Selektion klicken und editieren. ⎋ (Escape) drücken oder ausserhalb des Bereichs klicken um den Modus wieder zu beenden. Hier gibt es einen Beispielfilm. Seit SubEthaEdit 2.1 kann man den Blockedit Modus auch mit Shift-Apfel-B auf einer Selektion aktivieren.

Wie benutze ich SubEthaEdit aus dem Terminal?

Einfach SubEthaEdits Kommandozeilentool verwenden. Tippen sie man see für mehr Informationen.

Wird FTP unterstützt?

SubEthaEdit arbeitet mit FTP Clients zusammen, die die "ODB editor suite" unterstützen. Unteranderem sind dies Interarchy, Fetch, NetFinder, Cyberduck, FTPeel, CuteFTP, Fugu und Transmit. Einfach SubEthaEdit als externen Editor einstellen und Dateien direkt mit "In SubEthaEdit editieren" auf dem Server verändern. Ein Speichern Kommando in SubEthaEdit löst dabei einen Upload zum Server aus.

Wie sieht es mit RTF aus?

SubEthaEdit ist ein Texteditor ohne Rich-Text Funktionen. Wir denken jedoch über die Idee eines eigenständigen kollaborativen RTF Editors nach.

Ich möchte die Farben des Syntax Highlighter ändern.

Seit SubEthaEdit 2.1 werden "Styles" unterstützt, die in den Einstellungen einfach vom Benutzer zu verändern sind. Man kann diese Styles sogar mit anderen Benutzern austauschen.

Get SubEthaEdit
Download SubEthaEdit 3.5.4
Requires Mac OS X 10.4

This version lets you try the software for 30 days before requiring registration. For details, please click here.

Quick Links
SubEthaEdit's Awards

Frequently Asked Questions

General

What about the name?

The name has been chosen to honor one of the greatest visionaries of computer supported collaborative writing, Douglas Adams, author of "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy", one of the funniest and greatest books on earth. In his books he envisioned a travel guide for aliens, which was updated by multiple editors collaborating over the "SubEthaNet". To quote him:

The Guide was compiled by researchers roaming round the galaxy, beaming their copy in, which was then instantly available to anybody to read. Over, believe it or not, something called the SubEthaNet. [...] I really didn't foresee the Internet. But then, neither did the computer industry. Not that that tells us very much of course - the computer industry didn't even foresee that the century was going to end. But I did have the inkling of an idea that a collaborative guide, one that was written and kept up to date by the people who used it, in real time, might be a neat idea.

SubEthaEdit is pronounced Sub-Etha-Edit. Sub like in "Subway", Etha like in "Ether", and Edit like in "Editor".

Any chance of a *nix or Windows version?

We love developing Macintosh applications with Cocoa and are determined to improve SubEthaEdit on that platform. We currently have neither resources nor experience to port our products to other platforms.

I would like to put a "Created with SubEthaEdit" button on my website

Here you go:
Created with SubEthaEdit

How does it work, technically?

SubEthaEdit uses Bonjour to announce its services on the subnet. Contrary to popular belief Bonjour does not provide collaboration services. This is handled by an engine internally dubbed "Million Monkeys Framework" to ensure zero-latency, non-locking, constant editing of text. SubEthaEdit's network protocol is based on open standards, namely the "Blocks Extensible Exchange Protocol" (BEEP).

Is there a forum or a mailinglist?

Yes. Please have a look at our Yahoo Group.

Where can I get old versions of SubEthaEdit?

Here.

Networking

I'm the only Macintosh user in the subnet. Where can I test collaborative editing?

Connect to the offical codingmonkeys testing server by clicking here.

Is SubEthaEdit 2.x compatible with 1.x?

No. Due to its much more evolved network protocol, SubEthaEdit 2.x can't talk to 1.x clients. However, the new protocol is extensible and ensures future development.

Did the port number change?

Yes. Version 1.x used port 30729. Version 2.0 introduced a new, more efficient network protocol and therefore changed the port number to port 6942, easily memorable with the help of advanced hypermathematics: "Six times nine is forty-two". The range of 6942-6951 will be used to allow for fast user switching and port conflicts.

I don't see any shared documents. What's wrong?

Please check if you have enabled a firewall. If so, please allow SubEthaEdit to use ports 6942 to 6951. In case you are using Mac OS X's Click 'New' to the right of the list of predefined ports, choose 'Other' from the pop-up menu and enter "6942-6951" for the port number and "SubEthaEdit" for the description. For detailed step-by-step instructions, please visit our networking support page.

I'm behind a router. How can I work with others over the internet, that also sit behind a router?

Since version 3.1 SubEthaEdit can automatically forward ports if your router supports NAT-PMP (most Airport Basestations) or UPNP (nearly every other router). Sometimes you have to enable these service once before they can work. Have a look at your router's manual or go here for help with Apple Basestations. In case of manual port mapping, port 6942 to 6951 should be forwared from the router to the computer. After that the other user should be able to establish a connection to him, which will be used to share documents in both directions. If you need to find out your dynamic IP, for example browse to http://www.myip.dk/. For detailed step-by-step instructions, please visit our networking support page.

What is friendcasting?

Friendcasting allows you to see all current connections of somebody you are connected to. This allows work groups to find each other even if just two of them are initially connected. It can be enabled by clicking the friendcast button in the Connections window. All new friend-of-a-friend connections are indicated by a special connection icon in the browser. If you are concerned about your privacy, you can disable friendcasting in the advanced preferences.

Is my document securely transmitted?

SubEthaEdit uses SSL encryption by default, so the contents of your document can't be read by anybody that isn't allowed to. In case SSL encryption fails SubEthaEdit indicates a insecure connection in the Connections window and by not displaying a SSL lock in the upper right corner of the document.

Features

I need help regarding regular expressions.

Have a look at "Help → Regular Expressions" for a summary of SubEthaEdit's regular expression vocabulary. To learn about basic and advanced regular expressions we recommend http://www.regular-expressions.info.

The syntax highlighter does not apply bold and italic styles to the source. What's wrong?

To use "fontification" you need a font that has bold and italic variants. Unfortunately Apple does not supply a monospaced font with these variants that is suitable for programming. We recommend downloading and installing the free "Vera Bitstream Mono" font. If you still want to use Monaco or another font without suitable variants, you can go to the Advanced Preferences in SubEthaEdit and turn on "Add synthesised Bold and Italic to Fonts". You might also want to disable screen fonts because most screen fonts don't look to great with synthesised variants.

How does autocomplete work?

Autocomplete can be activated by pressing ⌥⎋ (option-escape) or F5. This shortcut works for all Cocoa applications and can be customized by experienced users by putting a custom DefaultKeyBinding.dict in ~/Library/KeyBindings/. Please note that Autocomplete does not work while running TextExtras.

How does blockedit work?

You can edit multiple lines at once by holding ⌥ (option) and selecting an area. Click inside and edit. To stop blockedit press ⎋ (escape) or click outside the highlighted area. Here's a tutorial movie. Since SubEthaEdit 2.1 you can also press shift-command-B to blockedit the current selection.

How can I call SubEthaEdit from Terminal?

Just use the command-line tool. Type man see in Terminal for more information

What about FTP support?

SubEthaEdit does integrate with FTP Clients which support the ODB editor suite. This includes clients such as Interarchy, Fetch, NetFinder, Cyberduck, FTPeel, CuteFTP, Fugu and Transmit. Just configure SubEthaEdit as an external editor in these applications. From now on you can fire up your FTP client, chose "Edit with SubEthaEdit" and have changes uploaded automatically on save.

Any chance of RTF support?

SubEthaEdit is a plain text editor. However, we are evaluating the idea of a collaborative rich text editor and might release an application like that in the future.

I want to change the colors for syntax coloring.

SubEthaEdit 2.1 features a "Styles" preference pane that allows you to customize your modes. You can even share these customizations with others by exporting them.